The UCAS Tariff

All universities use a common points system to establish a fair comparison between the variety of courses and qualifications that you may have studied to gain entry to higher education.

The table below shows the points equivalent for some qualifications included in the UCAS Tariff*. Please visit the UCAS website for a full list of qualifications included in the tariff.

We recognise a broad range of qualifications that you may wish to use in your application to higher education. You can search our courses to see the specific entry requirements for your chosen course.

If you are unsure about whether your qualifications meet our entry requirements, our Admissions Team is available to answer any query. Please call them on +44 (0)115 848 4200.

*Please note that not all qualifications listed on the UCAS tariff are accepted for entry onto our courses. We may also have higher entry requirements depending on the qualification being taken. Specific requirements can be found on our course profiles pages on the UCAS website.

Qualification points system
BTEC Points Score
Extended DiplomaDiplomaSubsidiary DiplomaCertificateASA-level / Applied A-levelApplied A-level double award
D* D* D*      420
D* D* D      400
D* D D      380
D D D      360
D D M      320
D M MD* D*    A* A*280
 D* D    A* A260
M M MD D    A A240
      A B220
M M PD M    B B200
      B C180
M P PM M    C C160
  D*  A*C D140
P P PM PD  AD D120
     BD E100
 P PM  CE E80
   D*   70
   DAD 60
    B  50
  PMCE 40
    D  30
   PE  20